IAIM – 20th anniversary

So this week, Wednesday 5th July to be precise, sees the 20th Anniversary of the UK chapter of the International Association of Infant Massage (IAIM).  I have been a part of this wonderful family for just over 2 years and I have loved every minute of it.  Infant massage has been a part of my life for 10 years.  When I had my first child I went along to my local baby massage class with, my then 2 week old, baby! From the very first session I was hooked.  The instructors were inspirational to say the least.  I am still in touch with them to this day even though we are in 3 different countries.

IAIM Logo

The IAIM is the UK’s leading authority on Infant Massage.  They are the original and longest standing infant massage association in the world.

Infant massage has many benefits these can include –

  • Increases bonding and attachment for both parent and baby
  • Helps your baby feel loved, valued and respected
  • Reduces crying and emotional distress
  • Increased levels of relaxation
  • Increases longer sleep
  • Development of body awareness and coordination
  • Relief from wind, colic., constipation and teething discomfort
  • Helps you feel closer to your baby
  • Helps you relax
  • increased confidence in your own ability to parent
  • Gaining a deeper understanding of your babies behaviour and body language

Studies have also shown that infant massage reduces post-natal depression and can improve mother/baby relationships.

 

 

 

 

 


Leave a comment